void box


Our Academy is organised into three key stages:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS): our children in our reception class are called Explorers.
  • Key Stage 1 (KS1): our Year 1 class is called Builders and our Year 2 class is called Artists.
  • Key Stage 2 (KS2): our Year 3 class is called Scientists, Year 4 classes are called Adventurers and Voyagers, Year 5 class is called Pioneers and our Year 6 class are Leaders.

The Curriculum at DLA gives our children opportunities to learn, build on and develop new skills. Our children are exposed to a range of subjects and activities that allow them to experience different topics and learning styles. This provides them with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens and help to engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.


Our children work in a variety of ways: as a class, in groups, pairs and individually. The emphasis is always on active and meaningful participation of pupils in their own learning. Additionally, the curriculum has a strong international focus. As such, our Academy has developed numerous links with partner schools, schools in other areas of Great Britain and organisations and schools abroad.

Educational Visits

Educational visits that enrich our curriculum topics, are an important way for our children to learn and experience activities beyond the classroom to other settings and contexts. Outdoor education is also an important part of our curriculum and our physical environment and the local area are well used as a learning resource. In addition, there are opportunities for pupils to go on residential trips. Parents are asked to make a contribution towards the cost of trips. Without such support these activities could not take place.

Key Stage 1 & Key Stage 2

In Years 1 to 6, our children enjoy focused, carefully planned core lessons, which reflect the emphasis placed on teaching the children reading, writing, mathematics and investigative skills. We teach some subjects discreetly though, although where possible and relevant, there is always a cross curricular link running through. The subjects we teach ‘alone’ are: English, Mathematics, Computing, Music, Religious Education and Physical Education.

Other subject areas are predominately covered in an integrated manner through the International Primary Curriculum; through themes embracing particular focuses. These areas are: Information Communication Technology (ICT), Science (when the topic is centred around Science) and the foundation subjects of Music, Art and Design, History, Geography, Personal Social and Health Education (PSHE), Society, International and Modern Foreign Languages (MFL).

Sex and Relationship Education (SRE) is incorporated into PSHE. Every effort is made to match the teaching and knowledge to the maturity of the children. We aim to help pupils cope with the physical and emotional challenges of growing up and provide them with an elementary understanding of human reproduction. We also enable them to make informed choices about their health and environment and provide them with confidence and strategies to resist bullying.


Year 1

Year 2


Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6